Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Print  
Author Topic: When do you harvest your lettuce?  (Read 1107 times)
TamiLynne
AeroGarden Addict

Kudos: 62

« on: October 22, 2010, 10:38:45 PM »

So I've read the Tending and Harvesting Guide for Salad Greens, and it states that harvest can begin around 3 weeks. I'm now at day 17 & I can't decide if I should be picking off some leaves. Everything looks to be growing well, but I admit I'm unsure how large the leaves really will grow in the AG. Bear in mind I've never grown lettuce indoors or out, so I'm completely new to this! Although the leaves look large enough, they don't feel very "crisp".. is that normal? Should I be clipping leaves and setting in ice water like I would to "crisp up" bought lettuce or am I not letting them grow long enough (wouldn't be surprised  Roll Eyes  )

Here are some photos from today, for reference. There are 5 pods of the AG Salad Greens growing in a Classic 7 pod. I have not as of yet raised the hood.

Thanks in advance!

-Tami*
Aerogarden Growers Community Forum
« on: October 22, 2010, 10:38:45 PM »

goodgal
Forum Resident

Kudos: 61

Life is good!

« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2010, 05:31:08 AM »

Beautiful lettuce!!!!!!!  I'd wait a few more days before I'd harvested any.  The lettuce is a little limpish, that's why I put them the fridge with a spritz of water.  Don't expect the crunch like iceberg lettuce.  Is this romaine?

Sandi
three classic 7's -
Pro 200
mini ag 3  Tiny Tim Tomatoes
6 pod classic
ladyerwyn
Sprout

Kudos: 3

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2010, 06:04:23 AM »

The first time I grew lettuce outside I noticed that it doesn't crisp and crunch like store bought lettuce. I've gotten so used to the way lettuce is supposed to be that I can't stand that store bought crisped lettuce. Hence why I'm growing lettuce in an aerogarden in the fall/winter.

Kelly

Pro 100 - Herbs
Pro 100 - Lettuce
Amanda
AeroGardener

Kudos: 75

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2010, 06:14:24 AM »